NutritionFacts.org

The Latest in Nutrition Research



Tue, 16 Jul 2024 12:00:32 +0000
back
The unprecedented rise in the power, scope, and sophistication of food marketing starting around 1980 aligns well with the blastoff slope of the obesity epidemic. […]
Thu, 11 Jul 2024 12:00:10 +0000
back
Why are U.S. taxpayers giving billions of dollars to support the likes of the sugar and meat industries? The rise in calorie surplus sufficient to […]
Tue, 09 Jul 2024 12:00:29 +0000
back
The rise in the U.S. calorie supply responsible for the obesity epidemic wasn’t just about more food, but a different kind of food. The rise […]
Thu, 04 Jul 2024 12:00:54 +0000
back
We have an uncanny ability to pick out the subtle distinctions in calorie density of foods, but only within the natural range. The traditional medical […]
Tue, 02 Jul 2024 12:00:39 +0000
back
Rather than being some kind of disorder or a failure of willpower, weight gain is largely a normal response by normal people to an abnormal […]
Thu, 27 Jun 2024 12:00:02 +0000
back
The “fat gene” accounts for less than 1 percent of the differences in size between people. To date, about a hundred genetic markers have been […]
Tue, 25 Jun 2024 12:00:55 +0000
back
The common explanations for the cause of the obesity epidemic put forward by the food industry and policymakers, such as inactivity or a lack of […]
Thu, 20 Jun 2024 12:00:33 +0000
back
Here is a review of reviews on the health effects of animal foods versus plant foods. Instead of looking only at individual studies or individual […]
Tue, 18 Jun 2024 12:00:44 +0000
back
Here is a review of reviews on the health effects of tea, coffee, milk, wine, and soda. If you’ve watched my videos or read my […]
Thu, 13 Jun 2024 12:00:24 +0000
back
Plant-based diets are put to the test for treating migraine headaches. Headaches are one of the top five reasons people end up in emergency rooms […]
Tue, 11 Jun 2024 12:00:11 +0000
back
Plastering front-of-package nutrient claims on cereal boxes is an attempt to distract us from the incongruity of feeding our children multicolored marshmallows for breakfast. The […]
Thu, 06 Jun 2024 12:00:30 +0000
back
How do healthier plant-based diets compare to unhealthy plant foods and animal foods when it comes to diabetes risk?  In my video on flexitarians, I […]
Tue, 04 Jun 2024 12:00:38 +0000
back
Public health authorities continue to lower the upper tolerable limit of daily added sugar intake. Dating back to the original “Dietary Goals for the United […]
Thu, 30 May 2024 12:00:36 +0000
back
We had the pleasure of talking with Dr. Sheil Shukla about his work, food, traditional Indian culture, and Asian American and Pacific Islander Month. We […]
Tue, 28 May 2024 12:00:11 +0000
back
Are the apparent adverse effects of heavy cannabis use on the bone just due to users being thinner?  It’s been recognized for decades that cigarette […]
Thu, 23 May 2024 12:00:03 +0000
back
SAD doesn’t just stand for the standard American diet. There’s a condition known as seasonal affective disorder that is characterized by increased appetite and cravings, […]
Tue, 21 May 2024 12:00:45 +0000
back
What did randomized controlled trials of phototherapy—bright morning light—for weight loss find?  If weakening our circadian rhythm can cause weight gain, might strengthening it facilitate […]
Thu, 16 May 2024 12:00:16 +0000
back
Coronary artery disease, the number one killer of men and women, involves blockages in the blood vessels that supply the heart muscle. As discussed in […]
Tue, 14 May 2024 12:00:40 +0000
back
What can shift workers do to moderate the adverse effects of circadian rhythm disruption? Shift workers may have higher rates of death from heart disease, […]
Thu, 09 May 2024 12:00:09 +0000
back
Ancient types of wheat, like kamut, are put to the test for inflammation, blood sugar, and cholesterol control.  The number one killer in the United […]
Tue, 07 May 2024 12:00:40 +0000
back
Exposure to bright light synchronizes the central circadian clock in our brain, whereas proper meal timing helps sync the timing of different clock genes throughout […]
Thu, 02 May 2024 12:00:05 +0000
back
NutritionFacts.org has so many free resources to help you on your journey to a healthier life. The Evidence-Based Eating Guide       The Evidence-Based […]
Tue, 30 Apr 2024 12:00:57 +0000
back
The same meal eaten at the wrong time of day can double blood sugar. We’ve known for more than half a century that our glucose […]
Thu, 25 Apr 2024 12:00:59 +0000
back
Grape juice and whole grapes are put to the test for brain function, including cognitive decline in early Alzheimer’s. In 2010, the first controlled trial […]
Tue, 23 Apr 2024 12:00:40 +0000
back
Why are calories eaten in the morning less fattening than calories eaten in the evening?  One reason calories consumed in the morning are less fattening […]
Thu, 18 Apr 2024 12:00:05 +0000
back
Harness the power of your circadian rhythms for weight loss by making breakfast or lunch your main meal of the day. In my last chronobiology […]
Tue, 16 Apr 2024 12:00:19 +0000
back
Raw garlic is compared to roasted, stir-fried, simmered, and jarred garlic. Garlic lowers blood pressure, regulates cholesterol, and stimulates immunity. I’ve talked before about its […]
Thu, 11 Apr 2024 12:00:43 +0000
back
A calorie is not a calorie. It isn’t only what you eat, but when you eat. Mice are nocturnal creatures. They eat during the night […]
Tue, 09 Apr 2024 12:00:13 +0000
back
Given the power of chronotherapy—how the same dose of the same drugs taken at a different time of day can have such different effects—it’s no […]
Thu, 04 Apr 2024 12:00:42 +0000
back
Dairy consumption is associated with years of advanced ovarian aging, thought to be due to the steroid hormones or endocrine-disrupting chemicals in cow’s milk.   […]